Educational Art Video: William Kentridge

One of my favorite sources of educational art videos is Art21 by PBS. This site is such a great resource of contemporary artists. This particular video is about artist William Kentridge. It is about an hour-long, but I would recommend watching the first 5 min or so because it covers a couple of my favorite examples of his work. It shows what I think is some of the more interesting thing that he does, primarily 2D medium, he is a good artist to show students because he uses simple drawings and paper to create short films and tells stories. His charcoal videos are beautiful. He starts by drawing an image, then erases and adds to the drawing to make a stop motion sort of animation. I love that you can still see some of the previous marks, so that a character will leave a trail as it moves.

http://video.pbs.org/video/1619754531/

One response to “Educational Art Video: William Kentridge

  1. Sara – I was introduced to Art21 by Debbie Greh, one of the professors who teaches a summer class at TC. They are all amazing, and this one on William Kentridge is no exception. Unlike some artists, he sounds like someone you’d want to know and hang out with. I especially liked his comment, “My art background was no different than anyone else’s. It was nothing special.” But look how special “what he was reduced to” (his words) has turned out to be…

Leave a comment