Static vs. Animated

Static graphics or animated graphics: which is more beneficial to learning?

My first thought is that I prefer animated images to static ones. However, there are some occasions that the static image is helpful, such as with a complicated process, having the static image in front of me to take my time studying it and to review as many times as necessary may be more beneficial that a fleeting animation.

Ideally I would like to have both static images and animated images presented to me when learning something new. That way I could watch the animated to get a full overview with all of the microsteps, then use the static image as a guide and a reminder.

Here is a cute video to show a child how to tie a shoe. I think the video would be more helpful than the step by step static images in the link below the video.

Watch Cowboy Roy Show A Shoe How To Tie Itself

Step-by-Step Static Images

http://wondertime.go.com/learning/article/how-to-tie-shoes.html

Leave a comment